Which protein to choose – a beginner’s guide
The body needs protein to function correctly, which can, of course, be obtained from many natural sources. There is plenty of it in meat, fish, eggs, dairy products, pulses, nuts, etc. However, if you want quickly absorbed amino acids in a pure form, it’s worth looking into protein supplements. There are many protein powders, so you can choose one to suit your current needs and preferences. It is time to consider what the best protein powder will be. Your lifestyle, diet, training plan and physique goals, weight, age, gender, height, and many other factors play a role in your choice.
What are the different types of protein supplements?
There are several types of protein: whey, beef, vegetable, and casein. Whey proteins are the most popular, consisting mainly of essential amino acids which support muscle mass building and are quickly absorbed. Therefore, it is worth reaching to them after training and between meals. Whey protein isolate, which has a great aminogram and negligible amounts of fat and carbohydrates, is considered excellent.
Cheaper are whey protein concentrates, which also have a perfect amino acid profile. Beef protein is an excellent alternative to meat, contains plenty of natural creatine, and is a source of complete protein.
On the other hand, suppose you are looking for a nutrient with a very long absorption of amino acids into the bloodstream. In that case, you should be interested in casein protein, which is of dairy origin. It is excellent for reducing weight and ensures a feeling of satiety for a long time.
The best vegan protein powder or plant-based protein powder
Vegan protein powders are becoming increasingly popular. This is mainly due to the growing consumer awareness and choice of plant-based products. However, it is sometimes difficult to get enough good-quality protein for people who have entirely excluded zoonotic foods from their diet. They cannot reach for whey protein powder, but they have several other options to choose from. Conditioners for vegans do not contain protein derived from cow’s milk. However, this does not change the fact that they are characterized by a very good aminogram.